Monday, November 2, 2015

Webinar: Health Insurance Coverage and LGBT Families

Health Insurance Coverage and LGBT Families
Tuesday, November 17th, 2015
12:00-01:15 pm EST
11:00-12:15 pm CST
10:00-11:15 am MST
09:00-10:15 am PST

This webinar will outline how the Affordable Care Act has improved access to health care for LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender) individuals. Discussion topics will include eligibility for obtaining health insurance coverage for LGBT families and legal rights in the health care setting. The target audience is HHS and HRSA grantees, healthcare providers, public health officials, and community advocates wanting to improve their competency in serving the needs of the LGBT patients in their practices.  This session is brought to you by the Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, Health Resources and Services Administration, Office for Civil Rights, Administration for Children and Families.

For more information, please contact: Ellen Ingram, (303) 844-3375, or eingram@hrsa.gov

Dial-in: 888-982-4695, Pin: 8535175

10:00 am            Introduction
CAPT Christina Mead, PharmD, US Public Health Service
Health Resources and Services Administration
                                             U.S. Department of Health and Human Services- Denver, CO

Ian Shipps, J.D.
Office for Civil Rights
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services- Denver, CO

10:10 am            Eligibility for Health Insurance Coverage
Alvin Chee, Health Care and Enrollment Program Manager,
The Center- Denver, CO

10:30 am            Legal Rights and Protections
Daniel Ramos, Health Policy Manager
One Colorado- Denver, CO

10:50 am            Questions

No comments:

Post a Comment