Wednesday, May 8, 2013

Best Practices for Improving Cultural Competency in the Health Care Workforce Webinar

Friday, May 24, 2013 
12:30 PT / 1:30 p.m. MT / 3:30 p.m. ET


Culturally appropriate health care may improve the quality and potentially reduce the cost of care for a diverse array of patients—and can contribute to the elimination of racial and ethnic health disparities. Over the last decade policymakers have explored options to increase cultural competency among health care providers. The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, for example, requires federal loan repayment preference be given to individuals who have cultural competency training or experience.  This webinar will review best practices for improving cultural competency among a state’s health care workforce.


Speakers
·        Robert C. Like, M.D., M.S., Professor and Director of the Center for Healthy Families and Cultural Diversity, Department of Family Medicine and Community Health, UMDNJ-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
·        Representative Alissa Keny-Guyer, Vice Chair, Oregon House Committee on Health Care
·        Tricia Tillman, Director, Oregon Health Authority Office of Equity and Inclusion

Questions? Contact Megan Comlossy at megan.comlossy@ncsl.org

No comments:

Post a Comment