Tuesday, January 15, 2013

NAACP Salt Lake Branch 29th Annual Dr. Martin L. King Jr., Memorial Luncheon

NAACP: Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Memorial Luncheon

The speaker is Justice Christine Durham. She has been on the Utah Supreme Court since 1982, and served as Chief Justice and Chair of the Utah Judicial Council from 2002 to 2012. She is the Past-President of the Conference of Chief Justices of the United States, and also the past-chair of the American Bar Association’s Council on Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar, the entity that accredits American law schools.

Awards to be presented:
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Award will be presented to Dr. M. Donald Thomas, former superintendent of the Salt Lake School District and is currently the president of the Public Education Support Group.

Rosa Parks Award will be presented to Debra Daniels, Director of the Women's Resource Center at the University of Utah and a Licensed Clinical Social Worker.

NAACP, Comcast, Smith's Food & Drug and Utah Jazz Scholarships will be presented to Utah College Students.
When: January 21, 2013 From 12:00 PM to 02:00 PM
Location: Little America Hotel
Address: 500 South Main Street
Cost: $70.00
Website: www.naacp-saltlakebranch.org
Contact: Jeanetta Williams at jdwnaacp@att.net or 801-250-5088

No comments:

Post a Comment